1. Computing

How to Delete Browsing History In IE9

By

6 of 10

Preserve Favorites Data
IE9 browsing history

(Photo © Scott Orgera)

The Delete Browsing History dialog should now be displayed, overlaying your browser window. A really great feature in IE9 is the ability to preserve stored data from your favorite sites whenever you delete your browsing history. This lets you keep any cache files or cookies used by sites in your Favorites to, as IE Program Manager Andy Zeigler puts it, avoid having your favorite sites "forget you".

To ensure that this data is not deleted, a check mark must be placed next to the Preserve Favorites website data option. This option is highlighted in the screenshot above.

  1. About.com
  2. Computing
  3. Web Browsers
  4. All About Web Browsers
  5. How to Use Windows Browsers
  6. Internet Explorer
  7. IE9 Browsing History - How to Delete Browsing History In IE9 - Preserve Favorites Data

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.