The second four options shown on the Delete Browsing History dialog, highlighted in the example above, are as follows.
- Download History: Just as it maintains a record of all sites that you have visited, IE10 also keeps track of the files that you have downloaded through the browser. When selected, IE10 will wipe this history from your hard drive.
- Form data: Whenever you enter information into a Web form, IE10 may store a portion of that data. For example, you may have noticed when filling out your name in a form that after typing the first letter or two your entire name gets auto-populated. This is because IE10 has stored that data from entry in a previous form. Although this can provide a welcome convenience, it can also become a privacy issue or security risk. When selected, this option instructs IE10 to delete all form data that has been stored locally.
- Passwords: With so many passwords needed nowadays on the Web, it can be a welcome feature when a browser such as IE10 offers to store them for later use. However, you may not want your passwords to be stored locally, especially if other people use the same computer. When selected, this option instructs IE10 to obliterate all saved passwords from your PC.
- ActiveX Filtering and Tracking Protection data: IE10 protects you in many ways while you surf, such as preventing harmful plugins from running and notifying you when a website may be sharing your online behavior with others. Some of these actions generate data which is stored locally, including a list of sites that may be excluded from ActiveX Filtering as well as data utilized by the browser's Tracking Protection feature. When selected, this option instructs IE10 to delete all of this information.
Now that you have a better understanding of each of these data components, select those that you wish to delete by placing a check mark next to its name. Once you are satisfied with your choices, click on the Delete button (circled in the example above). Your private data will now be deleted from your hard drive.
Please note that you can utilize the following keyboard shortcut to reach this screen, in lieu of following Steps 2 and 3 of this tutorial: CTRL + SHIFT + DEL